Google Now Allows Anyone on Google+ to Email Your Gmail Account, Here’s How to Stop It.

Google-Plus-Logo
Stay Connected. Follow n3rdabl3!      
      
      

by
on January 11, 2014
Twitter - Email

In another attempt to get everyone ever using Google+, Google have now enabled a new feature that allows anyone who has a Google+ account send an email to Gmail users without needing to know their Gmail email address first. That’s right, if you have Gmail, anyone who has a Google+ account can email you.

Google have innocently added a way for people to “reach the people you know more easily” by using their Google+ profile to send a quick email to anyone who has a Gmail account. In an attempt to make it easier for those who actually forget to exchange email details, Google have also made it easier for strange people to email people they may not actually know.

How it works is that when you’re typing out an address in your Gmail account, Gmail will now also suggest your Google+ connections as recipients as well as those saved in your address book, regardless whether your connected on Google+ or not.

If this is something that you really don’t want to happen then you’ll be pleased to know that there’s a way of stopping this from happening. By default everyone allows people on Google+ to send them an email, all we have to do is change our Gmail settings to not allow them. You can do that by:

  1. Head to your Gmail account and go to your settings which you can find by clicking on the little gear icon in the top right underneath your Google account image, and clicking “Settings”.
  2. Scroll down the page until you find the “Email via Google+” settings.
  3. From here you’ll see a drop down box which should read “Anyone on Google+” simply click the drop down box and click “No one”
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Save Settings”. Simple!

If you can’t see these settings, don’t panic. Google are slowly rolling out this feature and you probably don’t have it yet, or you don’t have a Google+ page yourself. Just wait a few days until you receive the email saying that the feature has been turned on, then you can change your settings.

Of course, if you want to be emailed by people in your Google+ Circles, click “Circles” or if you’re okay with people who are in your Circles, Circles, choose the “Extended Circles” setting.